Little Red Knows Her Mind

Isn't she lovely?

Isn't she lovely?

So, yesterday, Little Red told me she didn’t want her hair to grow anymore, and she wanted me to cut it. I told her we would give it a day or two, and if she still wanted it, then I would cut her hair for her. This morning, she asked me again, so I figured she really wanted it cut.

The poor thing has hair that grows straight forward into her face, and we have not been able to find any hair dealies* that have helped keep her hair out of her face other than pulling it all back into pigtails. Headbands hurt her head, and those little bendy barrett things don’t stay in because she plays with them. I didn’t want to cut bangs, because she looks better without them.

Apparently, I was not the only one bothered by the hair in her face. I think she just got tired of brushing it out of her face, and asked me to just cut it all off.

Sweetness

Sweetness

Little Red knows her mind, quite obviously, as evidenced by the happy expression she wore while looking at her new haircut in the mirror. I don’t know that it will remedy the situation, but it is darling. 🙂 And…when she turned around, I thrilled just a bit at the little bit of curl that revealed itself against her darling little girl neck!

My mother heart skips a beat when I see my little ones so happy with something so simple as a homemade haircut. How long will I be able to get away with that, I wonder?

*My personal technical term for ponytail holders, headbands, barretts, etc…

3 thoughts on “Little Red Knows Her Mind

Comments are closed.