A Tribute…

…to my bestest friend, Tiffany. For her birthday.

As much as I love to write, and as rarely as I run out of words, I am usually a flop at things like this. I wax nostalgic, and turn rather silly. Still, this must be written.

Tiffany and I have been friends since September of 1992, when Mrs. Monteith was calling roll in our advisory class, said “Tiffany,” and we both replied “Here!”

I looked across the aisle at the girl with long blonde hair and glasses, and we both smiled. I remember Mrs. Monteith added the last name, which started with a “B,” and belonged to the Tiffany I am writing about. Mine came a couple more names down the line.

Oddly enough, I remember what she was wearing that day. However, to spare her any humiliation, I will not share her ensemble. 😉 I don’t remember what I was wearing, of course, but I’m sure it would embarrass me to recall it.

Since that day, Tiff and I have come through a lot together. Though she moved north about two years later, we’ve remained sister-like in our friendship. We didn’t talk everyday, but we reconnected so easily every time she came back to town to visit family. It just…fit.

And, it still does to this day. Especially since the day Tiffany told me she was going to be baptized! My best friend, whom I’d prayed for and tried to be there for, for so long, came Home to the One who has always longed to be her Best Friend!

I don’t know if I’ve ever told her this, but I have always admired her. Always. Between the two of us, she is the better listener, the better empathizer, the calmer mother, and among the most amazing people I’ve ever known.

We have an odd relationship. We’ve lived apart from each other for a long time, but that never seems to make much difference. She still loves me. And I am so grateful the Lord brought us together nearly seventeen years ago.

Two sixth-graders: one shy, the other talkative. One blonde, the other a redhead. One tall, the other short. Co-presidents of the IBTC. (If you don’t know what that is, you were never a member.)

We are now two mothers. She is still quiet, and I’m still great at talking her ears off. She’s now a redhead, and mine has darkened to auburn. She’s still taller than me by a good three or four inches. We are retired from the IBTC, with honors. 😉

Each of us is connected to the other in some unexplainable fashion. Unless you know the God we serve. 🙂 We were made for each other, Tiffany and I.

I love you, Tibbi. I’m so glad I met you, and I’m so glad our friendship is still going strong. Most of all, I’m so glad you are my sister not only by friendship, but by Blood. I love you.

Happy Birthday!

My Space Or Yours?.net

3 thoughts on “A Tribute…

  1. Thank you so much for writing that. It made me feel special today! I love you so much and I praise God that wew were able to stay connected for so many years. I feel truly blessed by your friendship. Your family has always shown me grace and love, that I know came through our very own gracious and loving God!

Comments are closed.