Simple Solution, Freely Shared.

I’ve been wanting to switch to reusable grocery bags for quite awhile now, and have already invested in two of those hot/cold bags, as well as a couple of Wal-Mart bags. However, I didn’t like the idea of paying even as little as a dollar to advertise the stores I shop at. (Shouldn’t they pay me for that? 🙂 )

Anyway, I read this great post about going green at Simple Mom today. Among her tips was was to make your own grocery bags. I thought “Why not?” And clicked on the link she shared to a post titled “35 Reusable Grocery Bags You Can Make”.

Thirty-five FREE patterns??? Holy cow!

I just spent some time looking, and most of them seem pretty darn simple, and I have lots o’ fabric stacked up here that I can use.

I’m positively shivering in excitement! “Over grocery bags?”

Yes. Over grocery bags. It’s such an easy, tangible way to be a bit more responsible with the resources God has blessed us with, and I see no good reason not to go for it. I’ll probably still get a few plastic bags every now and then, to replenish my supply of bathroom trash bags, but I’ll be so grateful to say good-bye to the plastic dump-fillers.

Now that I’ve cut out a few non-priorities in my life, I find myself filling my time far more wisely than I was even a few days ago, hence the sudden flurry of crafty-like activity and upsurge of joy in my life. I still have a long way to go to get my home to resemble the peaceful, semi-orderly haven I want it to be, but I’ve taken a few small steps in the right direction by the grace of God. He’s so stinkin’ good!

So, that’s it for now. I’m off to start the story time and tucking-in process with the Short People. Those crazy, bull-headed, dirty, adorable, loud, sugary-sweet kiddos o’ mine!

I’m also planning on making some tea towel cloth napkins, and toying with the idea of dyeing them red. Any tips on dye? I’ve never used it, so if you know anything, I’d appreciate some guidance.

3 thoughts on “Simple Solution, Freely Shared.

  1. You posted this at the right time! I don’t want to take my commissary shopping bags to small markets in Germany. I feel rude doing that to big stores here in America, let alone a place I will be a “foreigner”.

    Love it! And dying fabric, I’ve always used the rule use a drop more than I think I need. Because it’s never as dark as I think it is supposed to be!

Comments are closed.