It Will Be Revealed

It is enough for the student to be like his teacher, and the servant like his master. If the head of the house has been called Beelzebub, how much more the members of his household! So do not be afraid of them. There is nothing concealed that will not be disclosed, or hidden that will not be made known. What I tell you in the dark, speak in the daylight; what is whispered in your ear, proclaim from the roofs. Do not be afraid of those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul. Rather, be afraid of the One who can destroy both soul and body in hell. Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? Yet not one of them will fall to the ground apart from the will of your Father. And even the very hairs of your head are all numbered. So don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.
~ Matthew 10:25-31 (NIV – emphasis mine)

“It is enough….” to be like Jesus. It is enough to follow in the footsteps of the Head of my household. If I do that, it is guaranteed that I will come into times of trial.

What is the first thing Jesus Himself commands me?

Do not be afraid.

Despite everything that has happened in my family in the last few weeks, circumstances which warrant fear in a normal person, I am commanded to put fear aside. To put faith, hope, and love in its place. To trust God’s promise that everything hidden will be revealed. There is nothing that is not in His sight, His control.

He is sovereign.

And he loves me. So much, that he knows the number of the hairs on my head. So much, that he died (John 3:16).

So much, that everything will be revealed. Every wrong that my family has suffered lately will have its perpetrator brought to light. If not in this world, then in the world to come. Someday, each of us will stand before Almighty God and give account for our actions, thoughts, and words. Including those who have wronged my family so deeply.

Whoever did this will answer for it.

So, whom shall I fear? Certainly not a mere man, who is capable only of killing my body. No. I fear God. I am in awe of His power, His grace, and His love. I prostrate myself before Him to whom I must give account.

“Nothing in all creation is hidden from God’s sight. Everything is uncovered and laid bare before the eyes of him to whom we must give account.”
~ Hebrews 4:13 (NIV)

Another thing I take comfort in is that the end result of all of this will somehow be for the good of my family. All things do, indeed, work together for the good of my family. Even when we don’t know exactly how to pray, or what God wants of us during this time, we can trust this promise. (Romans 8:26-28)

So, I choose confidently to look to God, and not to man, for my answers. I choose to look past what is seen – these horrible circumstances – and look to that which is unseen – my Lord and my God, Jesus Christ. That is where our hope lies, and where answers can be found.

“Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.”
~ 1 Corinthians 4:16-18 (NIV)

These troubles certainly do not seem light or temporary to us, but that is because we are “light and temporary” ourselves. One day, we will stand before God and understand. In the meantime, God will renew each of us, daily, if we will keep our eyes on Him. He loves us, and wants nothing less than what is absolutely best for each of us. I believe that. With my whole heart, mind, and spirit.

More than ever, I look forward to the day when “He will wipe every tear from [our] eyes. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.” (Revelation 21:4 – NIV). What a glorious day that will be!

Each tear we cry is precious to God, and even Jesus wept at the death of his friend. (John 11:33-44) I know that He cares far more about my family than I do. I know that He does not take our pain lightly. I know that He has a purpose, even if it is not immediately made known to us.

Everything will be revealed. There is nothing hidden from His sight. His arm is not too short to save.

I will cling to that. Moment by moment, I will learn to trust completely, but only by God’s grace and on His strength. I cannot do this on my own. In fact, it’s impossible for me to do this. With God, however, “…all things are possible!” (Matthew 19:26)

