Bless Us to Remember.

I think that bedtime is my favorite part of the day – and not just because of the quiet that blankets the house once my short people are safely tucked away in bed. It’s the time I get to spend saying prayers with them. I started out teaching each of them the classic “Now I lay me…”

However, I always said my own, genuine, prayer as well. I know that teaching a child anything has to be done by example, so I don’t always limit my prayers with them to “a good night’s rest and good dreams.” So, each of them now offers up their own little “big boy” and “big girl” prayers each night.

I am usually the one to tuck the girls in, while Daddy takes care of the boys. My Audrey, the little Monkey, is the one who begins her prayers each night this way:

Dear Jesus,
Bless us to remember…

On top of that, she usually sings her prayers. Too sweet!

But…I’ve been thinking about that short line: “Bless us to remember.”

Something about that simple request just touches me somewhere deep. I wasn’t sure why. For months, I’ve wanted to write about it, but I didn’t really know what to say. Where could I go with this? In a way, I still don’t know. I do know, however, that it often is a blessing to remember.

To remember blessings, if you will. 🙂

I will remember the deeds of the Lord; yes, I will remember your miracles of long ago. I will meditate on all your works and consider all your mighty deeds. (Psalms 77:11-12)

But from everlasting to everlasting the Lord’s love is with those who fear him, and his righteousness with their children’s children– with those who keep his covenant and remember to obey his precepts. (Psalms 103:17-18 )

Look to the Lord and his strength; seek his face always. Remember the wonders he has done, his miracles, and the judgments he pronounced…. (Psalms 105:4-5)

I remember the days of long ago; I meditate on all your works and consider what your hands have done. I spread out my hands to you; my soul thirsts for you like a parched land. (Psalms 143:5-6)

Do I remember the deeds of the Lord? Do I remember to obey the Lord? Do I remember His wonders, His works?

Too often, I don’t. At least, not until bedtime, when my almost-three-year-old baby girl lisps those sweet words: “Bless us to remember.” Then, He does.

It is a blessing to remember everything the Lord has done for me in my life. I have secure shelter, good food, clothing, good health, a family. I have the great privilege of raising four children, a privilege for which I am not worthy, and in no way earned. I have been saved, by God’s grace alone, from my own sin. I am a new creation, being molded into a being fit for Heaven.

I remember that I have a living, two-way, relationship with the God of the Universe through Jesus Christ. He is more than my Savior and Lord. He is my friend. My shepherd. My father. My husband. My beloved. There is none like Him. None can match His power, His glory, or His love. As a result of this Great Love, I (sometimes) remember to obey Him.

I remember that I can trust completely in His love for me, which (should) naturally lead me to obedience, knowing that what He asks of me is for my ultimate good. This, of course, is where I struggle. That is another post for another day, though.

I have adopted my little girl’s prayer as my own. Each day I, too, ask the Lord to “Bless us to remember.” I can’t help it. It’s so central to my faith, and brings me to that place of childlike awe before my great and good God.

That’s just where I want to be.

One thought on “Bless Us to Remember.

Comments are closed.