Happy Birthday, Levi!

Wednesday was Levi’s 27th birthday, and we celebrated in a style perfectly suited to him. He’s not a sentimental guy. He doesn’t care about cards, cake or the “Happy Birthday” song. So, I made him his favorite cocoa press cookies and a no-bake cheesecake. And got him a t-shirt.

He’s an easy man to please.

I don’t know if you can see it in this picture, but my graham cracker crust didn’t, well, crust. We could have scooped it with a spoon! Oh well…still tastes just as good.

What I forgot to include in the first picture is Levi’s gift from Stewie, Levi’s best friend. They got Levi the Mt. Dew jammie pants, which he greatly appreciated. Especially since we haven’t been able to afford his Dew lately, and he has been contenting himself with el cheap-o orange soda and root beer. The sacrifices he makes are astounding, I know!

The t-shirt is one we saw on Shirt.Woot a long time ago, and I assumed it was sold out. If you’re not familiar with Woot, they sell one item everyday for a great price until they run out. Their shirt page is awesome, and there are new designs everyday. This one was Levi’s all-time favorite so far, though there are tons on Woot that he loves.

For me to find it in the archives with any quantity left at all is awesome! It’s a shirt with items from the video game “Legend of Zelda”. In Levi’s words “Awesome sauce!” For once, I hit on a gift that was exactly what he wanted, and I was able to keep it a surprise. Mostly. The one day he happened to check the mail, the shirt was in the box…so, he knew it was a shirt from Woot, he just didn’t know which one. Dangit! I told him he’s never allowed to check the mail again. Ever.

After gifts, and after dinner, we sang “Happy Birthday” at the kids’ insistance, and cut the cheesecake. The kids, sadly, did not get any. You may think it cruel, but not after you hear why.

Earlier in the day, I had baked his cocoa press cookies, and put them on wire racks to cool. I told the kids they couldn’t have any until after dinner, when we would do daddy’s birthday party.

Take a wild guess at what happened.

Mommy turned her back long enough for Turbo to lead the sneaky charge in swiping about 1/4 of the cookies and shoving their faces full of them. Nice. So, as a consequence, they didn’t get any dessert at all after dinner. Of course, I don’t really blame them…those cookies are crazy good! They are the most chocolatey, yummy, delightful cookies I’ve ever had – and they’re not really all that sweet. Just amazing.

So. That’s all, folks.

I know this post falls rather flat, but I’m feeling very “blah” today. I don’t know why I didn’t bother to write this when I was my bubbly self, but I didn’t. And I don’t feel like re-writing it right now. So here you go.

I hope your day goes better than my writing style today!

