The Chain of Ungrace

Today, I would like to share my Toilet Devotional (a.k.a. “Our Daily Bread” from RBC Ministries) with you. Yes, you read that right. I said “toilet” and “devotional” in the same sentence. My quiet time is usually spent during my first trip to the bathroom in the mornings, because that is basically the first and last “quiet” time I have everyday!

You busy moms who may have a hard time finding some time to spend with God should look into it. As short as it is to me, it helps me to remember that God is outside of time, and those few minutes are just as good as 100 years to Him. It’s plenty of time for Him to work in me, tell me things He needs me to know, and to love on me.

Laugh if you must – it makes a difference! Today’s was on forgiveness, and I was touched to the heart. It’s not any really new information, it was just very well-timed for me. Here is the quote that struck me in particular:

“…forgiveness creates a remarkable linkage, placing the forgiver on the same side as the party who did the wrong. We are not as different from the wrongdoer as we would like to think, for we too must ask our heavenly Father, “Forgive us our debts” (Matt. 6:12)” Emphasis mine.

Boy, do I ever ask God to forgive my debts! I am so glad, all over again, that Jesus paid my debts on the Cross! I may pay for them dearly here on earth, in the form of natural consequences, but they will no longer hinder my joy! Forgiveness is a gift I am not willing to withold.

If you’d like to read the rest of today’s devotional, go here.

