Agape, Tiff. Agape.

This poem was sent to me today by a friend and mentor of mine, Susie. I have gone through some things in the past few weeks that have left me dealing with some “less-than-Christian”, fleshly emotions. (I know, I know – you just can’t believe it, can you? You thought I was perfect? Ha! I only wish…)

These situations have given me the perfect opportunity to put into practice what I’ve been learning through “The Way of Agape” study at my church home. I’ve missed half of the lessons, due to various and sundry reasons, but have received enough instruction for God to gently whisper in my ear:

“Agape, Tiff. Agape. My love, not yours.”

My strongest desire is to hash it out and defend myself. But God wants me to back off. To trust Him to do His job as Holy Spirit. He doesn’t need my “help”. He needs my surrender. He needs me to turn the other cheek. To let Him be my defender, my friend. To shut my mouth and quit over-analyzing everything. I mean seriously, compared to Him, what do I know?

I am being sharpened. Refined. Purified. Cleansed. All of this stuff coming up, my emotions, my fleshly reaction, is all dross. I am a big pot of melted gold, and God is bringing all the impurities to the surface in order to skim them off. Leaving pure, soft, malleable gold. It’s a good thing. A good thing.

So, I trust Him.

Here’s the poem:

When God wants to drill a man
And thrill a man and skill a man;
When God wants to mold a man
To play the noblest part.
When God yearns with all His heart
To create so great and bold a man,
That all the world shall be amazed
Watch His methods Watch His ways.
How He ruthlessly perfects
[Those] whom He royally elects.
How He hammers him and hurts him
And with mighty blows converts him.
Into trials, shaped of clay,
Which only God understands
While his tortured heart is crying
And he lifts beseeching hands.
How God bends but never breaks
When his good He undertakes
How He uses whom He chooses
And with every purpose fuses him.
By every act induces him
To try His splendor out.
God knows what He’s about

Unknown Author

