Something Funny Happened at the Doctor’s Office Today…

…At least, I thought it was funny. Turbo and I visited the doctor today, after I called the nurse advice line about a funny (aka “disgusting”) rash on his face, as well as my sore throat. The rash showed up yesterday morning, my sore throat has been sore (aka “agonizingly swollen and painful”) for 10 days.

This particular nurse, as kind as she was, pulled a “mother hen” on me and chewed me out for not getting a strep culture a week ago. Kindly and gently chewed me out. I was duly chastened.

I felt sure that I didn’t have strep. I just had a cold on crack. You know, aches, pains, nausea, vomiting, you name the symptom…

Well. She was right.

I dutifully went to the urgent care today, along with Turbo. There, they asked me when my last cycle was. It was 21 months ago. (Oh, the joys of breastfeeding!) They didn’t quite believe me, and kept asking me, as if I wouldn’t know whether or not I had bled from *that place* in the past 21 months. Funny.

Anyway, since I haven’t had a cycle in that amount of time, the doctor wanted to do a pregnancy test, so that if my strep test came out positive, she’d be able to prescribe something that wouldn’t harm a baby in utero. Fine by me, since I don’t use chemical birth control, and while we are using preventative measures, they are not guaranteed methods. I acknowledged the possibility of a pregnancy, even though I took a test less than two weeks ago. (This whole “lack of menses” thing has made me a mite nervous.)

So, out she goes with the urine sample.

A few minutes later, she comes back in and smilingly says “Well, it’s positive!”

*cricket cricket*

I respond: “Really???” Pause. “Wow.” Pause. “Okay.”

She left to get my prescriptions written up.

It hit me like a ton of bricks. In a very good/bad way. I called Levi, and told him, asking him not to say anything to anyone until I could really wrap my brain around Baby #5 being really on the way. Then, I fought tears for a few minutes, waiting for the doctor to come back in.

My emotions were all twisted and tangled together. Happiness that God would choose to bless us with one more. A little fear that God would choose to bless us with one more. If that doesn’t make sense to you…it will someday. Mixed emotions doesn’t even begin to cover it.

So, there I was, all kerflummoxed and ruffled and generally confused.

Well, in the midst of all this emotion and turmoil of the soul, Dr. Lady came back in and brightly announced “Well, you’re NOT pregnant, so amoxicillin should do it for the strep.”

I did a double-take…”Whahahaawhat???” I recovered. “What? I thought you meant the pregnancy test came out positive!”

Dr. Lady blushed a bit and apologized profusely – indeed, she had not told me which test was positive. She just announced it right after taking my urine sample out. She felt so badly, but I couldn’t help but laugh in relief. And now you are too, aren’t you? Admit it. You think this is funny.

Soooo, no. We’re not pregnant again.

While I would more than welcome another precious being into my home, it would take me quite awhile to get used to the idea, and a little longer than that to be purely happy about it. No matter what, I would be thankful, knowing the goodness of my great God.

In the meantime, Levi has an appointment September 10th to finish things off. That means that there is still a small cushion of time that a Baby #5 is possible – but not probable.

Sigh.

I needed a good laugh today, and today’s visit to the doctor was more than adequate. Here’s one more light-hearted gem from today:

Dr. Lady to Turbo: So, do you have any other brothers or sisters at home? (I had Bubbers with me too.)

Turbo: Yup. Two sisters. They’re littler than me.

Dr. Lady: Oh…I bet you pick on them a lot huh?

Turbo: No. I’m just mean to them sometimes.

Dr. Lady (laughing): Oh really? Why?

Turbo(shrugging): Oh. Just because.

Yeah. I thought you’d like that one. Although, I have to clarify that Turbo is far more bossy than mean…cuz I can’t just let that slide.

So…did you think I was pregnant? Huh? Didja? Aw come on…I’m sure I had you going…even for a little?

6 thoughts on “Something Funny Happened at the Doctor’s Office Today…

  1. Hmmm….that’s just not nice! I was doing the happy dance for you!

    I agree that the lack of menses thing can really mess you up when it comes to knowing what your cycle is doing!

  2. I was having a freakin’ heart attack over here. You cannot do things like that to me. I can’t handle it!!!

  3. HEY! It’s not April Fools! That is funny. The nurse really should have qualified the “positive” result. I would comment more on the medical community, but I won’t. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Let God’s will be done. Hugs!

  4. You only had me goin a little bit. I was thinkin’ nah… But it was enought to get my heart beating. Such a funny girl. Love you and miss you bunches.

    Daddy

  5. I always believe it’s possible! ๐Ÿ™‚
    That should definately be a free doctors visit, not that there is such a thing. hehehe

    Beth

Comments are closed.