In Other Words

“I do not know that the prodigal saw his father, but his father saw him. The eyes of mercy are quicker than the eyes of repentance. Even the eyes of our faith are dim compared with the eye of God’s love. He sees a sinner long before a sinner sees Him.”

C.H. Spurgeon
(from sermon based upon the Prodigal Son)

I don’t think I have anything to say that could possibly add to this quote. It sums up so perfectly what the love of God really is.

It brings to mind so many scriptures:

“While we were yet sinners, Christ died for us…”

“…it is God’s lovingkindness that draws us to repentance…”

“…for the joy set before Him, he endured the cross…”

Etcetera and so forth.

But…what this quote means to me, personally, is that He is daily waiting for me to turn and see Him. To see the look in His eyes of love, and be humbled. To repent and start over. To be forgiven and set free.

Again. And again. And again.

When I’m short or unneccesarily angry with my kids. When I’m peevish and cold to my husband. When I choose to shirk my God-given duties. When I’m envious of my sisters in Christ. When I lose track of my priorities. When I’m harshly critical of people I profess to love. When I’m rude, vain, selfish, prideful, hypocritical, or talk too much.

He sees me. And He’s not mad at me. He’s not disappointed in me. (He knows I am just dust, after all.) He’s not ready to lecture, punish, or even smite me. Although He could – and I would be deserving.

No – He sees me and loves me. My sin grieves Him, but He offers me forgiveness. He offers me His hand, so that He can pick me up, guide me, and help me to “go and sin no more”. He does not want me to stay in a pig sty of my own making.

He wants me to come home and taste the feast of fat things He has prepared for me. Things that will nourish and strenthen me to keep on perservering in the race He has set before me.

All I need to do now is learn look up much sooner. To shorten the time between His seeing me, and my seeing Him. Come “boldy before the throne of grace” to humbly, gratefully, accept the cleansing of mercy and grace.

~For more In Other Words posts, visit Amy – our hostess for this week.

One thought on “In Other Words

Comments are closed.