See This.

It took forever, but I finally got to sit down and watch The Business of Being Born, a movie made by Ricki Lake & Abby Epstein about the birth industry in America. Yes, it has a bias towards homebirth.

To that I say “Amen!!!” All the other homebirthish movies I’ve seen so far are pretty dated, and people just tend to laugh at them. It’s about stinkin’ time a movie like this was made that can really be taken seriously.

I very much encourage any woman who is pregnant, is thinking about becoming pregnant at some point in the future, or who have had children under the traditional ob/gyn model of care, to watch this film. Critically, seriously, and with an open mind.

You may be surprised at what you learn.

It is a great place to start looking at your options for birth. It is not an end-all source of information, but an introduction to the mountain of evidence-based materials that are available for women who want more than the status quo for birth in this country.

As for me, I plan on buying a couple of copies to start my official “doula lending library”.

Click on the link in my sidebar to buy the dvd from their home site.
One thought on “See This.

  1. I’ve been intrigued by this movie for a while, but I haven’t gotten around to watching it. I’m going to see if I can get my hands on it now! I totally agree that it’s high time the homebirth option has been updated.

Comments are closed.