Something Real

My friend, Erica, posted this on her blog. And she tagged everybody. Therefore, I must do as I’m told and post it too. Only…this one actually has some substance to it. Enjoy.

***<<>>***

What is your biggest dream?
My biggest dream…I really don’t know. There are so many things that I could use as my answer for this. If you boiled everything else away, then the one that counts the most is the dream I have of someday hearing “Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your master’s happiness!”

What is your biggest success thus far?
None that hasn’t come from God, I can tell you that! I think my biggest success would be my awareness of my weaknesses, and learning how to lay them at Jesus’ feet. I may be oblivious at moments in time, but I am overall, extremely aware of my deepest shortcomings. This is teaching me to turn to God every minute of everyday, in order to learn surrender. Over and over and over.

What is your ideal job?
Definately not housework! Ahem. Seriously though? My ideal job – aside from the one God has placed me in as a wife and mother – would be one that allowed me to share Christ by example, set my own hours, and involve birth. In short, I can’t wait for the day I can be a Certified Professional Midwife!

What was the most important thing you learned from your parents?
My dad always taught us to follow our hearts, but to use our head doing it. My mom taught me how to be a wife with a “gentle and quiet” spirit, and what it really means to put others first.

What do you look for most in a friend?
I like them to be human. You know, same species as me. For my closest friends, I look for someone with the same faith – someone who can challenge me, sharpen me, encourage me, pray with me, and learn with me. Honestly, I’ll be friends with anyone who will let me into their lives! It’s a privilege to be liked!

What is your philosophy of life?
Love God. Love others. Take time to listen. (the W’s)

What’s your biggest fear?
That all of my sins and mistakes in my parenting are going to screw up my kids for life.

What’s your biggest joy?
On this earth? My children.

***<<>>***

How would YOU describe yourself in three words?
Talkative. Open. Sinful.

How would someone else describe you?
I’m not even going to attempt this one.

How do you measure beauty?
“Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as braided hair and the wearing of gold jewelry and fine clothes. Instead, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.” 1 Peter 3:3-4

How important is family to you?
My family is everything to me – second only to Christ.

***<<>>***

Do you believe in regrets?
There are regrets, yes. But they are in our past, which we cannot change. God wants us to look forward, bearing our cross now, making choices today, which will bring us little by little, closer to the end of an honorable finish in the Great Race. CS Lewis talks about the present being the only part of time which touches eternity – and that is true. The past is unchangeable. The future is uncertain. What are you doing now to prepare yourself for what lies ahead?

Do you believe in second chances? why or why not?
I believe that you can’t truly forgive without giving a second chance. (Amen, Erica.) What was it Jesus said about forgiving “70 times 7”?

Do you believe in love at first sight?
I believe that seeds can be planted at first sight, but if it is not cultivated properly by the Creator, that seed will come to nothing. It will lead to nothing but dust and ruin.

Do you believe that true love lasts forever and conquers all?
I do. Read 1 Corinthians 13. And, how about Song of Solomon 8:6-7? These are my favorite verses about love.

***<<>>***

Are you trustworthy? trusting? How do you show it?
Though I have made mistakes, I can truly say that I am trustworthy. I am less trusting than I used to be, now that I have children. However, I am very trusting of most people. I really try to give the benefit of the doubt as much as possible.

Are you independent? Or still dependent on someone?
I am extremely dependent on God for just about everything. In fact, I would say that any time I try to do anything independent of Him, it backfires in the most awful way!

Are you willing to change for someone else?
I am not willing to change who I am at the heart, or what I believe for anyone. Who I am is who God created me to be, and to change that would be an insult to my Creator, who does not make mistakes. However, I am more than happy to change behaviors, attitudes, and habits that cause me to walk away from Him, to hurt the ones I love, or that lead me into sin.

***<<>>***

If you could leave one life lesson behind to the younger generations, what would it be?
To slow down, and learn to say “No”. To be content with what God has given you. To learn what it means to do everything “as unto the Lord”. Ok, that was three. Tough chicken.

If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be and why?
My goll-durned pride! Out of anyone I know, I have a tendency towards hypocrisy, and I hurt people because of it. I want to be someone worth looking up to – I don’t like people to see my faults. This is why God breaks me every so often, and I am forced to be real. I am so glad that it is getting easier and easier, and the breaking hurts a little less each time. Surrender is beautiful!

If you could have anything in this world, what would it be? why?
My midwifery licence. I want to help bring babies into this world!

If you could change one thing about your family, what would it be?
I know I have some family members who are not saved. I would change that. I want my whole family to have a reunion in Heaven someday.

If you had everything you’ve always wanted, would you be happy?
For about five minutes. After that, I’d realize that happiness means nothing in this life. My happiness comes and goes from minute to minute, based on my circumstances – what’s going on, how I’m feeling, etc… Joy, however, is lasting. And that joy comes only from knowing that the God of the Universe loves me, and desires my friendship. If I can learn to be content with that, then my circumstances will never have an effect on my joy, and I will have everything I want!

“Trust in the Lord and do good; dwell in the land and enjoy safe pasture. Delight yourself in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart.” Psalm 37:3-4

