Cloth Diapers RULE!

There’s a giveaway for some great cloth diapers at SimpleMom today, and I’m entering to try and get them for a dear friend of mine who is wanting to venture into cloth diaper land. :-)

In order to enter, Simple Mom asked us to leave a comment on her post answering the following statement: “If you’re already using cloth diapers (or did, when you had kiddos in diapers), recommend a brand and type of diaper you liked, and why. If you haven’t used cloth yet, share one reason you’re willing to give it a try.”

As a very satisfied cloth diaper for over two years now, this was my reply:

I’m a CD user for the last two+ years, and I love it! I bought mine without any real help from anyone, since I didn’t know anyone at the time using them. I went with the BumGenius 2.0 pocket all-in-ones, and have been nothing but satisfied with them. My only regret being that I chose boring old white covers instead of a cute green or yellow, and that I didn’t start with the oldest of my four kids. I started when my 3rd was just over a year, and I was preggers with #4.

However, if I had to do it all again, knowing then what I know now, I would have chosen cotton pre-folds, snappis, and made my own outer wraps (or had my friends make them for me.) They are much cheaper, and I would not have to strip them as often.

Because the BumGenius isn’t 100% cotton on the outside, they have to be stripped once a week here, because of oil build-up and hard water, in order for them to maintain their absorbancy. It’s not a difficult process by any means, just something I have to remember to do.

I don’t have a clothesline, and won’t for awhile, otherwise, this would not be a problem. Really, it’s not an “issue”, but took me awhile to figure out what I needed to do in order to fix the absorbency issue I began having about 3 months into using them.

Since I figured it out, I haven’t had one other problem at all. I LOVE that I didn’t have to buy different sizes, and I love that even though we spent about $400+ on 24 diapers & doublers, I have STILL saved well over $1500 or more using cloth instead of disposable for my two youngest.

Go on over and enter yourself!

What say you?

