And So it Begins…Kinda.

springcleaning01

My Day One, though it started yesterday, had some hang-ups. I wasn’t able to get any boxes for my give/sell sorting until midday, our family ended up needing to run an errand or two, and I had an appointment with a new OSD client.

Still, I turned on my praise and worship channel on Pandora Radio, kicked the kiddos outside (I’ll be involving them later), and started in with a will.

However…I completely forgot to take before and after pictures of my surfaces that needed de-cluttering, but I did finish the job today. Frustratingly enough, it actually took me two days to get done with this task, due to all that schtuff that came up yesterday.

On the positive side, there are no “surfaces” in my kids’ room due to the utter lack of storage, so I skipped those two rooms. I plan on tackling those rooms hard core on the day I focus exclusively on them.

Big box 'o stuff.

Big box 'o stuff.

At least I can show you the box of stuff I already have going to sell at a yard sale I’m planning to have two weeks after I finish this shin-dig. This is a huge box, yo! Huge.

Rather than just surfaces, I also cleared space on my bookshelf – which I honestly thought I would not be able to do. I did it though. I let go of some books that I was clinging to stubbornly, but they were not books that I find useful or beautiful. They didn’t make the cut, so I cut the strings. Felt gooood! I have several of my favorite books residing on my coffee table, but I’d rather have them on the shelf, and I’m pretty sure I’ll have the room for all of them to go “home”.

I have two or three more surface areas to clear, and I’ll be done with Day One activities. Woohoo!

springcleaning02

As for Day Two cleaning, I am looking forward to gutting my office tonight and getting at least the walls wiped down, which will put me a tad behind for day three, but I know I can do it. I’m starting with the room I think is going to be the most hard-core for me, since this is where our family spends the majority of our time.

Here is the “before” picture of our office, doubling as a homeschooling/craft/computer/extension of our dining area.

The Office

The Office

As you can see, the big computer armoir really needs some work. Though it’s pretty well-organized, I know there are some things in there that absolutely must go. Some of it is stuff my hubby will have to go through, as a lot of it is his, and I don’t know what he’s okay parting with.

100_7535One thing I was especially worried about were his two Beatles records. We can’t afford to custom frame them, they’ve just been taking up space in the armoir, and I was loathe to suggest packing them away. So, I asked God about it, and the answer to that prayer came in the form of two $4.99 LP frames at Michael’s!!!

Way cool. Now, I just need to hang them. :-) I’m so happy, and so is my honey.

I can’t wait to get the kids in bed and have a few hours to clear out the office, and get some cleaning going on.

To “meet” more folks partying like their house needs cleaning, visit Simple Mom, or just click on each of the banners above to see her individual posts.

4 thoughts on “And So it Begins…Kinda.

  1. Partying like their house needs cleaning… I like it. :-) I think you’re doing great. I am planning to clear off one bookshelf yet tonight. I have a very very hard time parting with books but considering i have a bookshelf that is 5 feet wide and 6 feet tall I really should be able to limit myself to just that one. We’ll see.
    Keep up the good work!

  2. What a great idea, hanging up album covers! I have a few autographed ones I would love to display (I think – maybe I should be embarrassed about who I used to listen too!)

    Its hard to get rid of books, even unloved ones, you found the strength, that’s awesome!

  3. Wow! Sounds like you’ve definitely got a plan! We have some of those LP album holders as well. They are amazing! (and a few Beatles albums that are framed as well). Your to give box has also given me an idea. Good luck!

  4. Pingback: It’s Tuesday… « The Faery Inn

What say you?

